Gluten-Free Pizza; Is That Even Possible?

Gluten is a form of protein that is found in most grains, especially wheat, barley, and rye. While gluten is a good source of fiber, minerals, and vitamins, not all individuals are able to eat food with gluten in it – people with gluten intolerance, celiac disease, or wheat allergy.

Common foods that contain gluten:

•    Bread
•    Candy
•    Cakes
•    Cereals
•    Crackers
•    Gravy
•    Ice cream
•    Pancakes
•    Pretzels
•    Pasta
•    Pizza

As a result, people who have allergies to gluten, especially those that have celiac disease – a gastrointestinal disorder that mainly affects the small intestines, caused by sensitivity to gluten – is unable to attend most dinner parties since most foods that are served have gluten in it.

Fortunately, gluten-free foods and varieties are now becoming widely available; just like gluten-free pizza. But, is that even possible?

Pizza dough’s ingredients include flour and yeast; most of these ingredients contain gluten. Most flours sold in the market today that are used in pizza dough-making are from wheat flour; the ingredient is known to contain gluten. Most yeast, on the other hand, contains gluten too. So, how is it possible to make a gluten-free pizza, especially the crust?

Fortunately, as mentioned earlier, you’ll find more and more foods that are sold in the market today without gluten content. So, making a gluten-free pizza, especially the crust, is now possible.

Nutritional yeast that is used to enhance flavor or as a substitute to cheese, and the baker’s yeast that is often used to raise the bread products are a few examples of gluten-free yeast; however, to make sure you got what you need, you have to check the ingredients found in on the pack. Check if the yeast is gluten-free. Same goes with the flour.

Here are a few flours that are known to be gluten-free:

•    Buckwheat flour
•    Tapioca flour
•    Cornmeal flour (finely ground)
•    Rice flour
•    Coconut flour
•    Sorghum flour
•    Millet flour

If you are planning to make your own a gluten-free pizza, make sure to find the right flour that will match to the gluten-free pizza recipe; if you haven’t got any recipe yet, check out some great recipes at the True Great Vegan – a reliable site that promotes and provides advice when it comes to gluten-free and vegan foods, especially pizza.

Also, if you find flour that indicates “flour” on the pack, those are from wheat; so, make sure that you got the right type of flour as mentioned earlier.

So, is it possible to make a gluten-free pizza?

Yes, it is.

Thanks to modern cuisine, people that are sensitive to gluten are now able to eat foods that are equivalent to the regular cooked foods. If you want to make your own gluten-free food, all you need to do is find the right ingredients and the right recipe.

If you are planning to make your own gluten-free pizza, but do not have recipes yet, you can visit True Great Vegan’s official site.